Books

‘Before I Go to Sleep’ by S.J. Watson

My Rating: pawprint pawprint pawprint grey-paw-print-hi grey-paw-print-hi 3 out of 5

I really like the overall idea of this book, but I wasn’t very impressed by it. I found it difficult to connect with the book, as it felt like the author was listing facts about the main character rather telling their story. I also found most of the book difficult to read as it is written in past tense and I prefer the events unfold as I read about them, as it makes me feel like I am experiencing what the characters are, which in turn helps me relate and identify with the characters.

Once the book returned to present tense I enjoyed it a lot more as it picked up and the plot started to come together, so I saw it through to the end. I did enjoy the ending as it made me think about what the future had in store for the character, but I did feel that the author tired to cover their tracks too much by explaining how the final event played out.

Overall I would say that the book is OK and if you enjoyed reading it I would recommend you read the Girl on the Train.

You can visit my Goodread profile by clicking here and the next book I will be reading is ‘Hide and Seek’ by M.J. Arlidge.

One thought on “‘Before I Go to Sleep’ by S.J. Watson

Leave a Reply

