Books

‘Baby Doll’ by Hollie Overton

My rating: pawprint pawprint pawprint  grey-paw-print-hi grey-paw-print-hi 3 out of 5 stars

Similarly with ‘Before I Go to Sleep’ by S.J. Watson I really liked the idea of book, as it is set after the victim escapes rather than before they are abducted, but unfortunately I was disappointed with the outcome.

It started off great. I felt my blood pumping as the victim escaped, but then excitement slowly drifted off and with the tagline ‘Escape is just the beginning’ I expected it to be more of a thriller, rather than the story of the character’s recovery.

Don’t get me wrong it was very interesting to read about the victim’s thoughts and feelings and those of the people around her, but I didn’t connect to the characters as I didn’t know many details about the event that shaped all of their lives. I feel like it could have been improved in several ways, for example focusing more on the main character, flashbacks to when the abduction took place, having the perpetrator on the run or even insights from unexpected people such as the victim’s daughter or old boyfriend.

Overall I’d say it is ok, but I’d only recommend it if it was brought up in a conversation by someone else. Sorry!

You can visit my Goodread profile by clicking here

One thought on “‘Baby Doll’ by Hollie Overton

Leave a Reply

