Books

‘Into the water’ by Paula Hawkins

My Rating: pawprint pawprint pawprint grey-paw-print-hi grey-paw-print-hi
3 out of 5
I had no idea that Paula Hawkins was even writing another book until I saw ‘Into the water’ in a shop window. I knew I had to buy it there and then. The book starts with a very powerful and beautifully written chapter where Jules describes her hatred for her sister, Nel, who has just been found dead in the drowning pool.

“I feared for the people I care about – my friends, my ex,  the people I work with. But it wasn’t about them, they said, it was about you.”

I was gripped straight away, but as the book went on more and more characters were introduced and I felt confused, as I don’t believe they were all necessary and the plot suffered because of it. It felt like the reader was only picking up the pieces after the events had already happened, instead of solving a mystery like in ‘The Girl on the Train’. Perhaps Paula was trying out new characters or trying to create a bigger world but I feel like she lost her way.

You can visit my Goodreads profile by clicking here. The next book I will be reading is ‘Dear Amy‘ by Helen Callaghan.

Leave a Reply

